City of York Council

Resolutions and proceedings of the Meeting of the City of York Council held at West Offices, York on Thursday, 20 July 2023, starting at 6.00 pm

Present: The Lord Mayor (Cllr Chris Cullwick) in the Chair, and the following Councillors:

Acomb Ward	Bishopthorpe Ward
Lomas Rose	Nicholls
Clifton Ward	Copmanthorpe Ward
D Myers Wells	Steward
Dringhouses & Woodthorpe Ward	Fishergate Ward
Fenton Widdowson	Whitcroft Wilson
Fulford and Heslington Ward	Guildhall Ward
Ravilious	Clarke Melly Merrett
Haxby & Wigginton Ward	Heworth Ward
Pearson	B Burton Douglas Webb
Heworth Without Ward	Holgate Ward
Ayre	Kent Steels-Walshaw K Taylor

Hull Road Ward	Huntington and New Earswick Ward
Baxter Kelly Pavlovic	Orrell
Micklegate Ward	Osbaldwick and Derwent Ward
J Burton Crawshaw Kilbane	Rowley BEM Warters
Rawcliffe and Clifton Without Ward	Rural West York Ward
Waudby	Hook Knight
Strensall Ward	Westfield Ward
Fisher Healey	Coles Nelson Waller
Wheldrake Ward	

Vassie

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors Cuthbertson, Hollyer, Mason, Runciman, Smalley and Wann.

Fiona Williams

Before the formal business of the meeting began, the Lord Mayor invited all those present to observe a minute's silence in memory of Fiona Williams BEM, former Head of Libraries and Archives at City of York Council and later Chief Executive of Explore York Libraries and Archives, who had sadly died in May this year.

13. Public Participation (18:11)

It was reported that one person had registered to speak at the meeting under Public Participation, in relation to the business on the agenda.

Gwen Swinburn voiced concerns about the current process of selecting and appointing Honorary Aldermen, stating that an open committee should be established for this purpose and that the title of 'Honorary Alderwoman' should also be available.

14. Honorary Aldermen (18:13)

The Lord Mayor declared the object of the meeting, under Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972, which was to confer the status of Honorary Alderman upon two former Members of Council.

It was then moved by the Lord Mayor, Councillor Cullwick, and seconded by Cllr Douglas:

"That, pursuant to its powers under Section 249(1) of the Local Government Act 1972, the Council do confer the title of Honorary Alderman of the City of York upon the following:

John Galvin Janet Looker

in formal recognition of their significant contribution to the City during the time that they served upon City of York Council."

Following a debate on formally acknowledging the distinction between Honorary Aldermen and Alderwomen in future referencing, the motion was put to the vote and declared CARRIED and it was RESOLVED: That the above motion, to award the honour to John Galvin and Janet Looker, be approved

Cllr C Cullwick LORD MAYOR OF YORK [The meeting started at 6.05 pm and concluded at 6.17 pm]